About

Welcome to Dachshund Rescue Australia.

Dachshund_Rescue_10 
Photo: www.ruffnstuff.com.au/

Dachshund Rescue Australia Inc. was started in 2009 to raise the profile of dachshunds needing rescue and rehoming across all States of Australia.  DRA became an Incorporated Not for Profit Association and officially gained Charity status in April 2014.

We are  ‘Devoted to Dachshunds’.  We have developed a reputation as an ethical breed specific Organisation within the animal welfare community and continue to build positive relationships  founded on open and respectful communication with shelters or pounds, other rescue groups, registered breeders and members of the Dachshund Community.

We understand that life changes for people.  Whether it is a family break up, moving overseas, an owner has passed away, no longer enough time to spend with your dachshund, children or any other number of reasons they come for rehoming, we work with you in a non- judgemental manner to make sure that your dachshund goes to a home where they will be ideally suited.  Our dachshunds are placed with people who know and understand the quirks of this breed.

Dachshund Rescue also has a list of dedicated foster carers should you need to surrender your dachshund into our care.  The foster carers look after these dachshunds in their own homes until we have found them the right home for their needs.

Pounds are extremely stressful places for a dachshund so please contact us for help so that they do not have to go through one.  We do not charge for helping you rehome your dachshund and we do not judge anybody who needs to rehome.

For enquiries in all States, except Perth, WA, whose numbers are below:

 

Ruth Salminen  0413 349650   ruth@dachshundrescueaustralia.com.au

Sharman Moore  0412 619266sharman@dachshundrescueaustralia.com.au

Chris Moore  chris@dachshundrescueaustralia.com.au

PERTH, W.A.

Penny Hodgson 0449 191962 penny@dachshundrescueaustralia.com.au

Jo Tetlow 0412 390 546 jo@dachshundrescueaustralia.com.au

Andrew Curran 0448 814 044 andrew@dachshundrescueaustralia.com.au
DRA Board Meeting March 2015

DRA Board meeting – March 2015

 

Our Ambassadoxies: Maluka and Avalon 
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MalukaandAvalon
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/maluka_and_avalon

Volunteers

Thank you very much to all our volunteers including:

Hannah Prime Dachshund Health hannah@dachshundrescueaustralia.com.au
Sarah Haora with Maluka & Avalon Business Support Liaison & Ambassador Promoter  sarah@dachshundrescueaustralia.com.au
Mark Ellis & Obi Wan ACT  &  Country New South Wales Awareness and Fundraising Ambassadors